Shanjidul Alam Seban Shaan from Chittagong and his organization 'EcoVation Bangladesh' received Joy Bangla Youth Award 2021.

On Monday (December 20), ‘EcoVation Bangladesh’ was awarded in the ‘Climate and Innovation’ category of the ‘Joy Bangla Youth Award 2021’ organized by the Center for Research and Information (CRI). Bangabandhu’s grandson Radwan Mujib Siddiq, also trustee of CRI, handed over the awards to Shanjidul Alam, Founder and Executive Director of EcoVation Bangladesh. This national award is to recognize outstanding contribution of youths in the development of Bangladesh.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was also present virtually on the occasion as the chief guest. Also present was Sajeeb Wazed Joy, Information and Technology Adviser to the Prime Minister. This year, more than 700 social development organizations from all over the country participated and out of them, 15 organizations were declared winners in five categories by the jury.

Former governor of Bangladesh Bank Md. Atiur Rahman, former Bangladesh national team captain Mashrafe bin Mortuza, Mofidul Haque, a heroic freedom fighter, and other prominent citizens of the country was on the jury board of Joy Bangla Youth Award 2021.

While accepting the award, Shanjidul Alam said, “I am very proud to receive the Joy Bangla Youth Award as a youth from Chittagong. I am dedicating this award to those young innovators who are solving many socio-economic problems of the country through innovation and contributing to development.

EcoVation is an innovation-driven social enterprise. Launched in 2015, EcoVation is working to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals, specifically SDG 8, SDG 9, SDG 11 and SDG 18. At that time it started its journey to solve the energy and poverty problem of Bangladesh and later it also started other innovative initiatives. So far they have illuminated the lives of 90,000 people with volunteer-made solar lamps and streetlights entirely free-of-cost.

State Minister for Foreign Affairs Shahriar Alam, State Minister for Education Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury, Member of Parliament Nahim Razzak, Mashrafe Bin Mortuza and others were present on the occasion.